Decide which user will get this Organization Role.
Go to: User Management → Authorization Requests
Create a new request:
Click: 'New'
Choose Dynamics User: Existing User in Business Central
After selecting a Dynamics User, the Username and Full Name will fill in automatically.
Go to Fasttab "Organization Role"
Click: 'New' and choose or fill in :
| Field | Explanation |
|---|---|
| Organization Role | What role will this user have? (e.g., "Sales Associate") |
| Start Date | When will it take effect? (default: today) |
| End Date | When do they expire? (optional – leave blank for unlimited) |
| Company | For which company? (optional - leave blank for all companies) |
| Company Group | Or for a Company group? (optional) |
Click: 'Save & Close'
After processing, the user automatically gets all the Permission Sets of the Organization Role.
Reason: A user has to lose an Organization role and with it the permissions.
Go to: User Management → Authorization Requests → Create a new one
After selecting the user:
Then process as normal ('Process' or ‘Send Approval Request’).
Go to: User Management → Processed Authorization Requests.
To view an Authorization Request, click on the name. In case of required approvals, click on the icon in the column Approvers. When a note was given with the review, hovering over the information-icon will show that note.
Depending on the notification setup of the approver, a notification is shown in the Authorization Box or a notification mail is sent.
The requests can also be found under ‘Requests for approval’.
When reviewing such a request by using the eye-icon, the request can be approved or rejected.
In both cases a note pop-up will appear for additional information regarding the review.
⚠️ When the requester is also an approver, the request will be approved automatically.
In case multiple approvals would be required for the request, the oval-icon will show the required number of approvers and how many responses have been processed.
When the first approver completes the request, this request will move to the Completed section for that approver until it is approved by all required approvers.
This same flow will also be applicable for the approval of Organization Roles, Company Groups and Permission set Groups.
⚠️ Important: A rejected request needs to be Processed manually to finish the rejection and to appear in the Processed Authorization Requests.
Last reviewed: October 2026.